Archaeological Museum of Fara in Sabina – Fara in Sabina
The Civic Archaeological Museum of Fara in Sabina (MUSAF) preserves the main finds from the excavations of two very important surrounding archaeological areas: Cures and Eretum. The building that houses the collection is the historic Palazzo Brancaleoni, a Renaissance-era building, located in the Piazza del Duomo in the historic center of Fara in Sabina, in the same square there is also a very valuable cistern commissioned by the Farnese family in 1588.
The Museum was inaugurated in 2001 and among its most important finds it preserves the Cippo di Cures, the only epigraphic testimony of the paleo sabelliche inscriptions (datable between the 6th and 3rd centuries BC) coming from the Sabina, and it will soon be exhibited also the Chariot of the prince of Eretum, a wonderful funerary kit stolen from the necropolis of Colle del Forno and subsequently exhibited for many years in the Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek museum in Copenhagen which has recently been returned to the Italian state. In addition to the Archaeological Museum, it is also possible to visit the Museum of Silence, conceived and managed by the Clarisse hermit nuns and which offers a sensory experience to visitors by trying to recreate the dark and silent environment of monastic life.
The city of Fara in Sabina offers much more and is often a tourist destination especially on weekends due to its proximity to Rome, moreover the cultural and landscape beauties of the area can be fully enjoyed all year round thanks to the climate. favorable and there are beautiful cycle and pedestrian routes to discover this wonderful little world.
Farnese’s well – Fara in Sabina
The Farnese’s well is a valuable monument that stands in the square of the Cathedral of Fara in Sabina, it is located very close to the main church of the city, the bell tower, and the Archaeological Museum and overlooks a terrace that dominates the entire municipal area with a splendid view. The well takes its name from the famous Farnese family who had it built in 1588. The visible element on the square is an elegant aedicule that serves as a well for the cistern that develops below it, since its birth it has always had a public function that continues today. This little gem is one of the most suggestive monuments in the entire municipality, both for its beauty and for the point where it is located from which you can enjoy a breathtaking view.
Montenero castle – Montenero
According to ancient documents from the Abbey of Farfa, the Castle of Montenero Sabino was already build around the 11th century, later numerous families took turns in possession of the Castle, including the Orsini, the Mareri, the Mattei and the Vincentini di Rieti. It is currently owned by the municipality of Montenero Sabino.
Through the conspicuous documentation coming from the archives of the Abbey of Farfa, we learn that the first mention of the “castrum montis nigri” dates back to 1089; while in another document, dated 1023, we find the simple attestation of “locus qui dicitur montenerium”. This suggests thst the foundation of the Orsini Castle dates back to around the first decades of the year 1000. From found documents for purchase, sale and others, it is clear that, unlike other families, the Orsini have owned the castle for the longest time.
In 1982 the whole imposing structure passed into the hands of the Municipality of Montenero Sabino. Originaly the structure, conceived as a simple Farfa military outpost, consisted of s simple rectangular enclosure with a polygonal central tower. The tower and some portions of the primeval walls still remain clearly visible, incorporated into the subsequent structures. What we see today is the result of various architectural stratifications of the fifteenth century and, above all, of the sixteenth \ seventeenth century.
The double monumental entrance staircase, the portal with the two circular towers, the internal courtyard and most of the residential structures on the upper floors date back to the latter period.
Most of the monumental structure can be visited. The courtyard – equipped with a good water collection system(contemporary with the foundation, the impluvium) – with the well still functioning are available to visitors. On the ground floor are the service rooms, such as the oven, carpentry, the cellars, the forge and the stables. The first floor, the noble floor is the most suggestive part. In addition to the large reception hall, the private chapel and the gentlemen’s day rooms, there is a beautiful sequence of rooms with a high-impact perspective effect, which had the function to amaze visitors and guests.
The frescoes in some rooms are very interesting. One of them bears the following inscription: “General Gerolamo Mattei of Clement VII. Testimony that Pope Clement Vll, foreseeing the arrival of Charles V’s Lanzechinecchi, was organizing the defense of the Sabine territory and, for this purpose had sent one of his general of the Mattei family.